Whomever takes the Blame Wins!

I was a 14-year-old  kid going thru Hesston High School in Kansas  being very, very rambunctious, and often disrespectful.  The thought that crossed my mind while acting this way was if I never get caught “I WIN”.  Many times my friends and I either cheated on tests, brought in stink bombs ” that actually is still funny” lol, snuck in alcohol, picked fights, or drew inappropriate picks on the chalk boards before class, and the whole goal was to not get caught. Finally we would eventually get caught and try to hand others the blame.  While it seemed innocent fun at that age, it seems the blame game never changes.

In LIFE you will be able to choose  {dream- struggle-victory} or {dream-struggle-victim}by who you lay blame for during the struggle period.  Dennis Waitley says “There are two primary choices in life: to accept conditions as they exist, or accept the responsibility for changing them”.  I believe that and also believe we have to accept the blame for where we are at.  A person who doesn’t accept the blame will say things like, it’s too hard, I’m too busy, this doesn’t work here, this is a bad time of year, if my husband/wife would etc etc, it’s too cold/hot, no money, no time, if my boss etc etc.  Shifting blame to others as I did in school or to things like time, money, spouse, co-worker,job, family,  boss seems like a good way to handle the situation we are in, but in effect it causes us to have to keep our situation because until we realize the responsible party we cannot fix the responsible one.  George Bernard Shaw wrote “Liberty means responsibility. That is why most men dread it”.

When finally I started working on myself. could I then begin handling the struggle correctly. Most go from DREAM to STRUGGLE to VICTIM only because they believe that they are a victim of the situation.  A leader goes from Dream to Struggle to Victory because he knows that he can only work on the situation correctly if he works on himself correctly by leveraging better information into his or her life .  I thank Bill and Jann Newton, Tim and Amy Marks,  for handling struggles correctly by taking Blame and working on themselves, so I could see that example and do the same thing. God Bless

Cody Newton

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!”

Matthew 25:21

About Cody Newton
I'm happily married with 5 kiddos. Thankful to God for changing my life and revealing where I can be better. Love spending time with family, at church, doing business, laughing, fishing, hunting, boating and about anything outdoors.

7 Responses to Whomever takes the Blame Wins!

  1. Hans Widener says:

    Great post Cody! I spent most of my life with victim thinking. It became easy and familiar over time. Reversing that thinking to victor thinking has not been easy, but I have chosen that staying a victim is not an option. God does not create victims. Satan just convinces people to become victims to prevent them from becoming what God truly created us to be: Victors!

  2. Kris White says:

    Thanks for leading the way! DREAM-STRUGGLE-VICTORY!

  3. Roger Miller says:

    Cody
    What an amazing message. There is so much truth in your message for everyone with ears to hear. The life business, Orrin & Laurie Woodward and all of the founders as well as your TOTALLY awesome parents Bill & Jann Newton have given so much and made such an impact on my life to constantly be striving to grow so that one day I can also hear well done my good and faithful servant. Thanks for being a wonderful friend & being a tremendous example of the power of the PDCA principle when being mentored by people of character that are willing to put truth out there even when it’s not popular.
    God Bless my friend

  4. Great story and example Cody. Proud to follow You and Tara .

  5. Candi Brown says:

    I loved this article Cody! Thanks for leading the way!

  6. Chris Brady says:

    Great post, Cody! Thanks for your transparency! Your testimony will help someone!

  7. Cody Moyer says:

    Thanks to the amazing leadership i have witnessed, absorbed and implemented into my life. Since being a part of TEAM and LIFE, i have started to transform my thinking and approach to life. I hope i can have an effect on others as you have had on me! Thanks Cody for teaching boys how to become men!

Leave a Reply

