Vision,Faith and Purpose Driven Leadership

I met Hans a couple of years ago in his quest to grow, change and become all God meant for him to be in his LIFE. He and his wife are great students of the Life Leadership program and All Grace Outreach. We have discussed many things about the bible, leadership, family and finances.  We have discussed many issues that I learned prospective from my mentor Tim Marks, my dad and mentor Bill Newton, and my personal pastor, Kelly Randolph about what it takes to be a Bible centered Leader. After the learning process started he began the second stage, PERFORMING, and it scared him to death.  I have personally watched him face fear and keep moving.  Hans and Elly are a couple who I respect because of their convictions and more important,  because of their courage to move forward with their God-given convictions in the face of opposition and FEAR.  god bless Cody
   “You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”– Eleanor Roosevelt
The thing that I have probably gotten most from the LIFE Team is a vision. As Andy Stanley would say, “a vision for what could be and should be.” To be more specific, a purpose. And actually, I didn’t get my purpose from LIFE; it just helped me discover my purpose and the fact that God had created me for a purpose. I’ve heard people say before, “God made me to be an engineer,” or “God made me to be a teacher,” or “God made me to be…[whatever].” I disagree. I believe that when God formed us in our mothers’ wombs, he fashioned us for a purpose, not an occupation. And before I was introduced to LIFE, I was not living for a purpose; I was just…living. As I believe Henry David Thoreau once said, “Most men die at the age of 25 and wait until the age of 65 to be buried.” That was me. Coincidentally enough, I was 25 when I saw the LIFE Team and I had become complacent in life. Most days, it was home to work, then work to home, and then an evening of the latest TV shows or movies with my wife (not exactly her idea of quality time).
The first book I read that gave me a sense of purpose was a book I received through our AGO series entitled The Principles and Power of Vision by Dr. Myles Munroe. This was an awesome book that made me realize my overall purpose—to lead people to Truth. The most recent book I read on purpose (no pun intended) was Visioneering by Andy Stanley. What an amazing book! A few things in particular stood out to me. He goes through a process to help one discover his or her purpose, but most importantly, to achieve a God-given purpose, he says one must have moral authority. Stanley says, “Moral authority is rooted in a desire to please God rather than man.” It is doing what’s right because it’s right and not even just for the sake of leadership or influence. Have moral authority in all your relationships, beginning in the home (which is a big one I’m still learning). “Moral authority is the overflow of character, not leadership ability.” So devote yourselves to what is right (Philippians 4:8). “There will always be people who won’t believe what you believe. But don’t give them grounds to doubt that you believe what you claim to believe.” Stanley says this is also extremely important because on the road to accomplishing your purpose, you will meet opposition. And if you’re like me, moving forward in the face of opposition does not come easily. But it is through LIFE that I have learned to act with courage rather than cowardice—not all the time, mind you. But as Bill Lewis said on a recent leadership audio, “sometimes, courage is the little voice at the end of the days that says, ‘I’ll try again tomorrow.’” What I pray every day is that I’ll grow in my courage to live fully committed to my God and purpose. “An audience can disagree with a position, but they can’t disagree with the reality of a conviction lived out.” Were it not for LIFE and the mentorship of Cody and Tara Newton, I don’t know exactly where Elly and I would be, but I imagine we’d be in a bad place getting worse. Today, I’m nowhere near fulfilling the vision God has placed in my heart. I still have a ton of growing to do and I certainly don’t claim to have perfectly applied all the principles above, but I do believe I’m on the narrow path. Thanks be to God for rescuing me and for the grace He gives me on a daily basis that I still have breath to move towards accomplishing what he planned for me before time began. “Everybody ends up somewhere in life. You have the opportunity to end up somewhere on purpose” (Stanley).
 Hans 
“Missions exists because worship doesn’t”
-John Piper, in Let the Nations Be Glad
About Cody Newton
I'm happily married with 5 kiddos. Thankful to God for changing my life and revealing where I can be better. Love spending time with family, at church, doing business, laughing, fishing, hunting, boating and about anything outdoors.

One Response to Vision,Faith and Purpose Driven Leadership

  1. Jessica Miller says:

    What an awesome testimony Hans! I’m so grateful for you and Elly. Your example of servant leadership blesses all of us!

Leave a Reply

